Arthur Bienenstock – Top Physicist

Stanford, CA – Arthur Bienenstock is being recognized by Continental Who’s Who as a Pinnacle Lifetime Achiever in the field of Physics, Education and Science Policy as a Physicist, Educator, and Federal Official at Stanford University.

Established in 1885, Stanford University is legally known as Leland Stanford Junior University. Leland Stanford and his wife opened the University as a memorial for their child Leland. Over the upcoming era, the University became renowned for its groundbreaking research and excellent academics. U.S. News ranked the University as the sixth best national university for 2019-20. Dr. Bienenstock holds multiple roles at the University, serving as a special assistant to the president of Federal Research Policy, professor emeritus of Photon Science, and associate director of the Wallenberg Research Link, which supports Swedish students and researchers in visiting and attending Stanford University.

Backed by decades of experience, Dr. Bienenstock is an expert at photon science, materials science and science policy. Previously, he served as the president of the Council of Scientific Society Presidents and the American Physical Society, vice provost for faculty affairs, vice-provost and dean of Research and Graduate Policy, and director of the Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource.

An academic scholar, Dr. Bienenstock earned a Bachelor of Science (BS) from the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn in 1955. He remained at the Institute where he earned a Master of Science (MS) in 1957, transitioning to Harvard University where he earned a Doctorate of Philosophy (PhD) in 1962.

As a testament to his expertise, President Clinton appointed Dr. Bienenstock as associate director for science of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.  Subsequently, President Obama appointed Dr. Bienenstock onto the National Science Board in 2012 where he chaired the Task Force on Administrative Burden. On top of these accomplishments, he was the recipient of the 2018 AAAS Philip Hauge Abelson Prize and the 2009 Cuthbertson Award. Additionally, he has been honored countless times throughout his career, receiving the first Pittsburgh Diffraction Society’s Sidhu Award in 1968 for his work in x-ray diffraction and crystallography.

A respected voice in his area of expertise, Dr. Bienenstock is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, American Physical Society, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Institute of Physics and of the California Council on Science and Technology. He is also a foreign member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences.

Dr. Bienenstock dedicates this recognition to his mentors Paul Ewald and David Turnball.

About Author