Magazine Logo

Joey Kevin Grochmal — Neurosurgeon and Assistant Professor

Houston, TX— Joey Kevin Grochmal is being recognized by Continental Who’s Who as a Distinguished Healthcare Provider for his contributions as a physician and professor.

Dr. Grochmal received his Bachelor of Science degree in Neuroscience from the University of Alberta in Canada and earned a medical degree from the University of Alberta Faculty of Medicine in 2006. He received a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Neuroscience from the University of Calgary in 2015 and also completed his residency in neurosurgery in 2017 at the same university. He finished a fellowship in spine surgery at the Medical College of Wisconsin in 2018.

The doctor is board-certified in neurosurgery and is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (FRCPSC). According to Dr. Grochmal, Neurosurgery is the medical specialty concerned with the prevention diagnosis surgical treatment and rehabilitation of disorders which affect any portion of the nervous system including the brain spinal cord peripheral nerves and extra-cranial cerebrovascular system. Neurosurgeons are doctors who diagnose and treat problems with the nervous system often by performing surgery on the brain or spine. They treat strokes, tumors, cervical and lumbar disc disease, infections, and head or spinal cord injuries.

Dr. Grochmal is an attending physician and Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery with the Baylor College of Medicine in Houston Texas. He explained that Baylor College of Medicine is a health sciences university that creates knowledge and applies science and discoveries to further education, healthcare, and community service locally and globally. Its vision is to improve health through science scholarship and innovation.

He is associated with the American Association of Neurological Surgeons and American Society of Peripheral Nerves’ Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

The doctor would like to thank his mentors, Rajiv Midha, MD, MSc, R. John Hurlbert, MD, and Marjorie Wang, MD.

About Author